Our Team

You are here:

Prof. Marek Stankiewicz

Prof. Marek Stankiewicz is the cooperation representative of the SOLARIS Centre. He holds a PhD degree in atomic and molecular physics and has extensive experience in working with synchrotron radiation. He has intensively collaborated with numerous international partners, including University of Reading, Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Imperial College London, as well as Max-Lab and Sincrotrone Elettra synchrotron light sources.

In 2009 he has received a title of the professor of physics from the President of Poland and was a leader of the project focused on the construction of the National Synchrotron Radiation Centre SOLARIS.

Marek Stankiewicz

Dr. Piotr Ciochoń

Dr. Piotr Ciochoń is the Industry Liaison Officer at the SOLARIS Centre. He has several years of experience as a project coordinator and a project leader of national and European R&D projects.

He has completed MBA studies and has an entrepreneurial side, being involved in the technology transfer and commercialization activities and co-authoring several patents.

Piotr Ciochoń

Dr. Alejandro Sánchez

Dr. Alejandro Sánchez is associate director for the Industrial Liaison Office at ALBA synchrotron. He has 14 years of experience in the semiconductor industry and more than 4 years related with European projects.

He has 14 years of experience in synchrotron activities dealing with the construction phase, budget, industrial customers and European projects.

Alejandro Sanchez

Dr. Marta Avila

Dr. Marta Avila is a scientist of the Industrial Liaison Office of the ALBA Synchrotron. She has a PhD in Chemistry focused on the use of synchrotron techniques, mainly X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy, for the characterization of environmental samples.

She was a member of the staff of the ALBA XAS beamline, CLAESS, for 2 years and afterwards she joined the Industrial office where she has been working for the last 5 years dealing with customer relationship and outreach activities.”

Marta Avila

Dr. Henning Lichtenberg

Dr. Henning Lichtenberg is a scientific associate at the Hochschule Niederrhein Institute for Surface Technology (HIT), specialized in materials research using X-ray absorption spectroscopy (XAS). His responsibilities include building up the new XAS beamline at SOLARIS, with a strong focus on projects of researchers at Niederrhein University and their industrial and academic collaboration partners.

Previously he worked as doctoral candidate in the Synchrotron Light Group at Bonn University (Germany), as postdoctoral researcher at the Center for Advanced Microstructures and Devices (Louisiana State University, USA), and as group leader (In-Situ Spectroscopy/Synchrotron Methods) at the Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology).

Henning Lichtenberg

Michał Młynarczyk

Michał Młynarczyk is the deputy director of the SOLARIS Centre and has over 15 years of experience in project management and fundraising. He was a coordinator of the largest Polish project in educational infrastructure, Auditorium Maximum. He is a trainer and advisor in business planning for initial stage initiatives and has substantial experience in technology transfer.

Michał Młynarczyk

Dr. Alexey Maximenko

Dr. Alexey Maximenko is responsible for the SOLABS beamline at the SOLARIS Centre. He has substantial experience in nanomaterials research, as a leader and employee in several fundamental and applied research projects. He is a co-author of several patents and co-supervisor in several master and bachelor theses.

Alexey Maximenko

Dr. Susanne von Ameln

Dr. Susanne von Ameln, is a lawyer and head of the Research Staff Office in the Research and Transfer Department at the at the Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences.

Susanne von Ameln

Dr. Klaus Attenkofer

Dr. Klaus Attenkofer is the scientific director of Alba synchrotron. He has 30 years of experience in using synchrotron light for materials and chemical sciences and was responsible for building 3 beamlines in the US and Europe going from beamline scientist to various management positions. He has over 100 peer reviewed publications, 4 patents and is involved in industrial collaborations targeting photon detection, semiconductors and energy applications.

Dr. Laura Simonelli

Dr. Laura Simonelli is the member of the XAS beamline team at Alba synchrotron since 2013. She is an expert in instrumentation and condensed matter physics, particularly in the interplay between lattice and electronic properties in highly correlated systems and other technologically relevant materials. She co-authored 95 publications in international journals or books reaching a H index of 21.

Dr. Nuria Valls

Dr. Nuria Valls is a scientist in the Industrial Liaison Office at Alba synchrtortron. She has 5 years of experience acting as a bridge between ALBA Synchrotron and private companies, promoting and managing industrial projects. Her scientific background is structural biology and she has substantial experience in the application of synchrotron radiation to the problems of the pharmaceutical private sector.

Prof. Alexander Prange

Prof. Alexander Prange holds two PhD degrees in microbiology and agricultural sciences and, has been, since 2005, a full Professor at the Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences and at the Louisiana State University Center for Advanced Microstructures and Devices (CAMD). He holds an appointment as adjunct professor at the University of Witten/Herdecke. Since 2010, he is a Vice-President for Research and Transfer of the Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences, responsible for the strategic science management, research funding and industrial liaison affairs.

Prof. Jost Göttert

Prof. Jost Göttert is currently a tenured faculty member in the department of electrical engineering and computer sciences at the Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences. He is the technical director of the university’s HIT Institute, focusing on intelligent automation solutions developing advanced surface coatings. He also holds an adjunct faculty and senior scientist position at Louisiana State University (LSU) in Baton Rouge continuing process development for microfluidic and optical MEMS applications using the CAMD synchrotron radiation facility, where he served as Director for Microfabrication until 2012. He has designed and built several x-ray lithography beamlines and is familiar with all the technical and operational aspects of working with them.

Prof. Josef Hormes

Prof. Josef Hormes has established and led the Technology Transfer Office of the Uniersity of Bonn, with the first experiences of collaborating with industry published already in 1992. He was the Director of the Louisiana State University Center for Advanced Microstructures and Devices (CAMD) and the Director of the Canadian Light Source (CLS), where he established a dedicated Industrial Research Group. First high resolution XAS experiments have been carried out in the group of prof. Hormes in 2009 and he has been collaborating with prof. Alexander Prange since 1999.